
Royal College of Physicians
RCP on MedicMessClinical Medicine (ClinMed)
Indexed in MEDLINE (PubMed). Fully open access. Published by Royal College of Physicians for the Royal College of Physicians.
Publishing in Clinical Medicine (ClinMed)
Clinical Medicine is the peer-reviewed journal of the Royal College of Physicians. It publishes human research for a general medical readership, alongside narrative and systematic reviews, commissioned CME, quality improvement, opinion, clinical cases, concise guidance, foundation doctor articles, letters and conference material. Its scope spans general and specialist medicine, surgery and emergency medicine.
The journal is fully open access. Full length articles and reviews have a standard APC of USD 2,500, while short articles and case reports cost USD 1,250, excluding taxes. Eligible paying RCP members and fellows receive a full discount, and country or institutional arrangements may also reduce the fee. Review is double anonymised. The site reports 103 days from submission to acceptance but does not state a first-decision time or acceptance rate.
Free subscriber access
Free with a subscription: the author guide in one place
Word limits, abstract lengths and fees for each article type, and a checklist before you submit. Enter your email to unlock this journal and every other guide.
You'll also receive The Weekend Round every Saturday.- Full Length articles (Original research)
Human research addressing a defined question for a general medical audience.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- 250
- Figures & tables
- 4
- References
- 30
- Review
Critical narrative or systematic reviews of literature relevant to a general medical audience.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- 4
- References
- 50
- CME (commissioned)
Commissioned updates on advances in understanding, diagnosis and treatment for physicians and higher trainees.
- Words
- 1,500
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- 4
- References
- 20
- Quality improvement
Service or educational improvement projects that measure and evaluate an intervention.
- Words
- 1,500
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- 15
- Opinion
A viewpoint or future research direction focused on practicality and health economics.
- Words
- 1,500
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- 0
- References
- 15
- Case reports
Cases with clear educational value and written patient consent.
- Words
- —
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- —
- Acute medical care (AMC)
Complex acute cases presented as evidence-based case discussions with learning points.
- Words
- 1,000
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- 1
- References
- 5
- Lessons of the month
Concise clinical cases with educational lessons for general physicians.
- Words
- 1,000
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- 4
- References
- 10
- Images of the month
Noteworthy clinical images or videos with brief explanatory text.
- Words
- 500
- Abstract
- 0
- Figures & tables
- 4
- References
- 5
- Letters to the editor
Brief correspondence for the editor and journal readership.
- Words
- 350
- Abstract
- 0
- Figures & tables
- 0
- References
- 5
- Lectures
Usually commissioned lectures, including Harveian Orations evaluated by editors.
- Words
- 2,500
- Abstract
- 0
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- 30
- Concise guidance
Guideline summaries framed around clinical questions and implications for general medical practice.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- 50
- Foundation column
Foundation doctors reflect on medical topics or experiences for a general medical audience.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- 150
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- 15
- Conference reports
Usually commissioned reports from relevant medical conferences.
- Words
- 1,500
- Abstract
- 0
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- 20
- Conference abstracts
Meeting abstracts managed outside the submission system and not peer reviewed.
- Words
- —
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- —
The APC is USD 2,500 for full length articles and reviews, and USD 1,250 for short articles and case reports, excluding taxes. Paying RCP members and fellows named as authors receive a 100% discount, except medical student, foundation doctor, honorary and emeritus categories. Research4Life waivers or discounts and institutional open access agreements may also apply.
Before you submit
- Include keywords and a cover letter with the submission.
- Upload the appropriate EQUATOR reporting checklist for the study type.
- Provide a competing interests statement even when there is nothing to declare.
- Include ethics approval and patient consent statements when the work involves people or identifiable patient material.
- Do not post the manuscript as a preprint until the journal has made its final decision.
- Declare any generative AI used to prepare the manuscript.
Present it first.
Similar journals.
Frequently asked
- Is Clinical Medicine (ClinMed) indexed in PubMed?
- Yes. Clinical Medicine (ClinMed) is indexed in MEDLINE, so its articles are in PubMed with a PMID.
- How much does it cost to publish in Clinical Medicine (ClinMed)?
- Not stated by the journal.
- Does Clinical Medicine (ClinMed) accept case reports?
- Yes. Clinical Medicine (ClinMed) publishes case reports.
- What is the Impact Factor of Clinical Medicine (ClinMed)?
- Clinical Medicine (ClinMed) states an Impact Factor of 3.9.
- What kind of peer review does Clinical Medicine (ClinMed) use?
- Double-blind peer review.
MEDLINE · Open access
- Accepted work
- Original research · Clinical trial · Systematic review · Literature review · Audit / QIP · Case report · Education or training project
- Acceptance rate
- Not stated
- Peer review
- Double-blind
- Access
- Free to read
Checked against the journal’s author guide · updated 17 Oct 2026



