
Royal Society for Public Health
RSPH on MedicMessPublic Health in Practice
In PubMed through PubMed Central. Fully open access. Published by Elsevier for the Royal Society for Public Health.
Publishing in Public Health in Practice
Public Health in Practice publishes research on how public health evidence is translated into services and policy. The Royal Society for Public Health owns the journal. Its scope includes intervention evaluation, implementation, community engagement, applied epidemiology, health protection and inequalities. The guide lists original research, reviews, short communications, letters, policy debate and commentaries; it also welcomes clinical trials and case reports within its broad scope. Policy debate is by invitation, and letters must concern a published article.
The journal is fully open access and has no general free publication route. Current charges are US$2,730 for full length articles and US$920 for short articles before tax, with eligible waivers, discounts or institutional coverage. It uses double-blind peer review for research and reviews, while letters are not externally reviewed. The median first decision for manuscripts sent to review is 147 days; the separate all-submission figure is 43 days.
Free subscriber access
Free with a subscription: the author guide in one place
Word limits, abstract lengths and fees for each article type, and a checklist before you submit. Enter your email to unlock this journal and every other guide.
You'll also receive The Weekend Round every Saturday.- Original Research
Original public health findings; provide a separate title page, blinded manuscript and practice implications.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- 300
- Figures & tables
- 5
- References
- 50
- Clinical Trials
Original research subtype; register publicly and submit a CONSORT checklist and participant flow diagram.
- Words
- —
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- —
- Applied Epidemiology
Original research subtype; substantiate the link to practice, policy or population impact.
- Words
- —
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- —
- References
- —
- Systematic Reviews
Critical evidence syntheses need an appropriate completed reporting checklist as supplementary material.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- 5
- References
- 100
- Narrative Reviews
Expert reviews need a supporting statement justifying the narrative approach.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- 5
- References
- 100
- Short Communication
Preliminary findings that do not need a full paper; follow original research structure.
- Words
- 1,500
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- 1
- References
- 10
- Letter
Comment on a previously published article or reply to correspondence; no abstract or standard sections.
- Words
- 750
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- 1
- References
- 5
- Policy and debate
Invitation only; balanced discussion of one policy issue without new data.
- Words
- 2,000
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- 3
- References
- 30
- Unsolicited commentary
Topical expert discussion submitted with prior editorial agreement; the guide also gives a suggested 800-word minimum.
- Words
- 1,500
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- 0
- References
- 30
- Commissioned commentary
Topical expert discussion requested or discussed with the editorial team.
- Words
- 3,000
- Abstract
- —
- Figures & tables
- 5
- References
- 30
This fully open access journal charges US$2,730 for full length articles and US$920 for short articles, before tax. Eligible Research4Life authors receive automatic waivers or discounts. Institutional agreements and a personalised charge may reduce the amount.
Before you submit
- For original research, include a covering letter, separate title page and blinded manuscript.
- Register clinical trials publicly and submit the CONSORT checklist and participant flow diagram.
- Submit systematic reviews with an appropriate completed PRISMA, MOOSE or Cochrane checklist.
- Justify a narrative review in a supporting statement and explain how studies were selected.
- Letters must respond to a published article; policy and debate pieces are invitation only.
- Declare competing interests and any generative AI used in the writing process.
Present it first.
Similar journals.
Frequently asked
- Is Public Health in Practice indexed in PubMed?
- Yes, through PubMed Central. Its articles are deposited in PMC and appear in PubMed with a PMID; it is not indexed in MEDLINE.
- How much does it cost to publish in Public Health in Practice?
- Not stated by the journal.
- Does Public Health in Practice accept case reports?
- Yes. Public Health in Practice publishes case reports.
- What is the Impact Factor of Public Health in Practice?
- Public Health in Practice states an Impact Factor of 2.2 for 2025.
- How long does Public Health in Practice take to decide?
- About 147 days from submission to first decision.
- What kind of peer review does Public Health in Practice use?
- Double-blind peer review.
PubMed via PMC · Open access · First decision in 147 days
- Accepted work
- Original research · Case report · Systematic review · Literature review · Clinical trial
- Acceptance rate
- Not stated
- Peer review
- Double-blind
- Access
- Free to read
Checked against the journal’s author guide · updated 16 Oct 2026


